Anova Precision Vacuum Sealer Pro vs Nesco VS-12
Last checked 2026-09-25. Every setting, width and compatibility statement below was read from its source on that date, and each links it.
Per their makers, both are 120 V edge sealers (Anova's US product page; Nesco's manual) with a moist setting, a double seal, a pulse vacuum and a hose port. The Nesco VS-12 takes bags up to 11.8 in wide and, Nesco says, any brand; the Anova Vacuum Sealer Pro does not state a maximum width, and Anova's manual says to use only original bags and rolls. Anova gives 2 years of warranty against Nesco's 1; Nesco ships two starter rolls against Anova's one longer roll.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you — commission never changes what is listed or how it compares (how this site is funded).
Side by side
| Anova Vacuum Sealer Pro | Nesco VS-12 | |
|---|---|---|
| Model | ANVS02-US00 | VS-12 |
| Sources | maker page · manual | maker page · manual |
| Type | edge (external suction) | edge (external suction) |
| Liquids | Anova says it has a low-pressure suction function and a double sealer for juicy foods; no liquid-only sealing is described | the vacuum chamber “catches any liquid overflow from the bag” (Nesco manual); no liquid-only sealing is described |
| Settings | Moist preset for moist and marinated food; Dry preset; double seal (Anova manual) | Dry and Moist seal times, both double seals; Normal and Gentle vacuum pressure (Nesco manual) |
| Pulse | yes, manual Pulse vacuum for delicate or soft food (Anova manual) | yes, Pulse Vacuum (Nesco manual) |
| Accessory port | yes, hose connector for containers (Anova manual) | yes, hose port for canisters, sold separately (Nesco manual) |
| Widest bag | not stated by Anova; it ships with an 11 in (28 cm) roll | 11.8 in (Nesco) |
| Bags the maker allows | “Only use original vacuum sealer bags and rolls” (Anova manual, troubleshooting: the bag melts) | “compatible with any brand of vacuum sealer bags” (Nesco), up to 11.8 in wide |
| In the box | 1 roll, 11 in × 19.7 ft (28 cm × 6 m) | 1 roll, 8.6 in × 9.85 ft; 1 roll, 11.8 in × 9.85 ft |
| Between uses | not stated | let it cool 2 minutes between uses; Manual Seal will not work within 15 seconds of the last use (Nesco manual) |
| Electrical | 120 V, 60 Hz, 110 W (Anova's US product page) | 120 V, 130 W (Nesco manual) |
| Warranty | 2 years (Anova) | 1-year limited (Nesco) |
| Recall check (CPSC) | none found | none found |
| Buy | Amazon › | Amazon › |
Kinds of claim on this page: settings, widths, box contents and warranties are product evidence from each maker's page or manual; which bags fit which sealer is a compatibility statement, the maker's own; suction, seal-strength and freshness figures such as Nesco's “up to 5 times longer” are a manufacturer claim this page does not repeat as a finding; anything no source states, such as the Anova Pro's maximum bag width, is unknown.
Bags each maker allows
| Anova Vacuum Sealer Pro | Nesco VS-12 | Anova Chamber Vacuum Sealer | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anova rolls ANBR01 11 in × 19.6 ft per roll (Anova's page; rolls per pack not stated); textured | stated Anova's own rolls for its edge sealers | stated Nesco says the VS-12 takes any brand of vacuum sealer bags up to 11.8 in | not stated no Anova source read pairs its rolls with the chamber sealer |
| Nesco rolls VS-04R 2 rolls, 11.0 in × 19.70 ft each (Nesco's store); textured | maker says original only Anova's manual says to use only original vacuum sealer bags and rolls | stated Nesco's own rolls | not stated no Anova source read names these rolls for its chamber sealer |
| Anova chamber pouches ANCB01 100 pouches, 11.0 × 9.8 in (Anova); smooth | not for use Anova: “Not for use with edge sealing vacuum sealers” | not for use Anova: “Not for use with edge sealing vacuum sealers” | stated Anova: “Only compatible with the Anova Precision™ Chamber Vacuum Sealer and other chamber-style sealers” |
What vacuum sealing does not do
“Vacuum packing is not a substitution for the heat processing of home canned foods.” “Vacuum packing is also not a substitute for refrigerating or freezing food that would otherwise require it.” — Oregon State University Extension, Should I Vacuum Package Food at Home? (SP 50-603, peer reviewed, revised March 2013). Nesco's manual: “Store perishable foods in the freezer or refrigerator. Vacuum packing extends the shelf life of foods, but does not preserve them.” This page makes no shelf-life claim of its own.
Anova's US page links a multi-language guide whose cover is labelled ANVS02 220–240 V / 50 Hz, the EU electrical variant; its English functions, box contents and bag rule are cited, and the US product page for the 120 V / 60 Hz / 110 W model sold in the US. Nesco's store sells this sealer as SKU VS-12P, and its page describes the VS-12; the Amazon listing and the manual cited are the VS-12.
Left out, and why
- FoodSaver countertop sealers: sold by Amazon.com, but a comparison was not built without their manuals and bag rules read; left for a later pass rather than filled in
- Avid Armor USV20 and Wevac 12 in chamber sealers: sold on Amazon by the brands as third-party sellers, not Amazon.com
- Anova Precision Vacuum Sealer (ANVS01, the smaller model): one Anova edge sealer is enough for these comparisons
- Third-party “compatible” rolls: no maker compatibility statement to check them against
- Freeze dryers and canisters: outside this pilot
A chamber sealer against an edge sealer: chamber vs external vacuum sealer. Which bags fit, and a calculator for what they cost you: vacuum sealer bag compatibility and cost.
We tested nothing: no suction, seal-strength, freshness or shelf-life measurements. Dehydrator Score restates makers' published specifications and manuals with attribution, and gives no food-safety advice beyond quoting the extension guidance above.
Product links on this page are affiliate links: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. What is listed, and how it compares, was settled from the makers' own sources before any link was attached — full affiliate disclosure.