Dehydrator Score
← All guides

Chamber vs external vacuum sealer

Last checked 2026-09-25. Every setting, width and compatibility statement below was read from its source on that date, and each links it.

Per Anova, its chamber sealer seals liquids and uses smooth chamber pouches that are “Not for use with edge sealing vacuum sealers”; its Vacuum Sealer Pro is an edge sealer with a Moist preset for moist and marinated food, and its manual says to use only original bags and rolls. Anova's chamber pouches come 100 to a box; Anova does not state how many rolls its ANBR01 pack holds. No prices are shown; the bag page has a calculator for the prices you pay.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you — commission never changes what is listed or how it compares (how this site is funded).

Side by side

Anova Chamber Vacuum SealerAnova Vacuum Sealer Pro
ModelANCV01-US00ANVS02-US00
Sourcesmaker page · manualmaker page · manual
Typechamberedge (external suction)
LiquidsAnova says it can seal liquidsAnova says it has a low-pressure suction function and a double sealer for juicy foods; no liquid-only sealing is described
Settingspre-programmed settings plus manual vacuum and seal times (Anova guide)Moist preset for moist and marinated food; Dry preset; double seal (Anova manual)
Pulsemanual vacuum time (Anova guide)yes, manual Pulse vacuum for delicate or soft food (Anova manual)
Accessory portnot statedyes, hose connector for containers (Anova manual)
Widest bag11.8 in seal bar; chamber 12 × 8.6 × 3 in (Anova)not stated by Anova; it ships with an 11 in (28 cm) roll
Bags the maker allowsAnova's chamber pouches; other bags not stated“Only use original vacuum sealer bags and rolls” (Anova manual, troubleshooting: the bag melts)
In the boxbox contents not stated by Anova1 roll, 11 in × 19.7 ft (28 cm × 6 m)
Between usesnot statednot stated
Electrical120 VAC, 60 Hz US plug, 280 W (Anova)120 V, 60 Hz, 110 W (Anova's US product page)
Warranty2 years (Anova)2 years (Anova)
Recall check (CPSC)none foundnone found
Buyno Amazon linkAmazon ›

Kinds of claim on this page: settings, widths, box contents and warranties are product evidence from each maker's page or manual; which bags fit which sealer is a compatibility statement, the maker's own; suction, seal-strength and freshness figures such as Nesco's “up to 5 times longer” are a manufacturer claim this page does not repeat as a finding; anything no source states, such as the Anova Pro's maximum bag width, is unknown.

What vacuum sealing does not do

“Vacuum packing is not a substitution for the heat processing of home canned foods.” “Vacuum packing is also not a substitute for refrigerating or freezing food that would otherwise require it.” — Oregon State University Extension, Should I Vacuum Package Food at Home? (SP 50-603, peer reviewed, revised March 2013). Nesco's manual: “Store perishable foods in the freezer or refrigerator. Vacuum packing extends the shelf life of foods, but does not preserve them.” This page makes no shelf-life claim of its own.

Anova's US page links a guide titled “CVAC QSG EU master” that covers 230 V and 120 V models; the English section is cited, and the US page for voltage. Anova's US page links a multi-language guide whose cover is labelled ANVS02 220–240 V / 50 Hz, the EU electrical variant; its English functions, box contents and bag rule are cited, and the US product page for the 120 V / 60 Hz / 110 W model sold in the US.

Left out, and why

Two edge sealers compared: Anova Precision Vacuum Sealer Pro vs Nesco VS-12. Which bags fit which sealer, bags per roll, and a calculator for the prices you pay: vacuum sealer bag compatibility and cost.

We tested nothing: no suction, seal-strength, freshness or shelf-life measurements. Dehydrator Score restates makers' published specifications and manuals with attribution, and gives no food-safety advice beyond quoting the extension guidance above.

Product links on this page are affiliate links: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. What is listed, and how it compares, was settled from the makers' own sources before any link was attached — full affiliate disclosure.