Vacuum sealer bag compatibility and cost
Last checked 2026-09-25. Every setting, width and compatibility statement below was read from its source on that date, and each links it.
Per the makers, Nesco's VS-12 takes any brand of bag up to 11.8 in wide, Anova's manual tells Vacuum Sealer Pro owners to use only original bags and rolls, and Anova's smooth chamber pouches are not for any edge sealer. Cut to a 12 in bag with 2 in for the seals, a pack of Nesco's VS-04R rolls gives 32 bags; Anova does not state how many rolls its ANBR01 pack holds. No prices are shown: the calculator below adds up the prices you pay.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you — commission never changes what is listed or how it compares (how this site is funded).
Which bags fit which sealer
| Anova Vacuum Sealer Pro | Nesco VS-12 | Anova Chamber Vacuum Sealer | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anova rolls ANBR01 11 in × 19.6 ft per roll (Anova's page; rolls per pack not stated); textured | stated Anova's own rolls for its edge sealers | stated Nesco says the VS-12 takes any brand of vacuum sealer bags up to 11.8 in | not stated no Anova source read pairs its rolls with the chamber sealer |
| Nesco rolls VS-04R 2 rolls, 11.0 in × 19.70 ft each (Nesco's store); textured | maker says original only Anova's manual says to use only original vacuum sealer bags and rolls | stated Nesco's own rolls | not stated no Anova source read names these rolls for its chamber sealer |
| Anova chamber pouches ANCB01 100 pouches, 11.0 × 9.8 in (Anova); smooth | not for use Anova: “Not for use with edge sealing vacuum sealers” | not for use Anova: “Not for use with edge sealing vacuum sealers” | stated Anova: “Only compatible with the Anova Precision™ Chamber Vacuum Sealer and other chamber-style sealers” |
“Too wide” would mean a bag wider than the sealer's stated maximum. A sealer with no stated maximum gets no fit from width alone; only the maker's own statement counts.
How many bags a pack gives
| Bags | Bags per pack (rolls cut at 12 in; pouches as sold) | Buy |
|---|---|---|
| Anova rolls ANBR01 11 in × 19.6 ft per roll (Anova's page; rolls per pack not stated) | pack count not stated by the maker | Amazon › |
| Nesco rolls VS-04R 2 rolls, 11.0 in × 19.70 ft each (Nesco's store) | 32 | Amazon › |
| Anova chamber pouches ANCB01 100 pouches, 11.0 × 9.8 in (Anova) | 100 | no Amazon link |
From a roll: whole bags = roll length ÷ (bag length + allowance), rounded down, times the rolls in the pack; the offcut at the end is waste. The 2 in allowance for seals and trimming is an assumption, not a maker figure; change it below. A pouch is a fixed size and gives one bag of at most its own length. Rolls of different widths are not the same bag: compare like widths.
A sealer plus 100 bags: what to buy
| Sealer and bags, 100 bags | Packs of bags to buy | Buy the sealer |
|---|---|---|
| Anova Vacuum Sealer Pro + Anova rolls ANBR01 | none: pack count not stated by the maker | Amazon › |
| Anova Vacuum Sealer Pro + Nesco rolls VS-04R | none: maker says original only | Amazon › |
| Nesco VS-12 + Nesco rolls VS-04R | 3 packs after 8 bags from the starter rolls | Amazon › |
| Nesco VS-12 + Anova rolls ANBR01 | none: pack count not stated by the maker | Amazon › |
| Nesco VS-12 + Anova chamber pouches ANCB01 | none: not for use | Amazon › |
| Anova Chamber Vacuum Sealer + Anova chamber pouches ANCB01 | 1 pack after 0 bags from the starter rolls | no Amazon link |
The price fields start blank and nothing is filled in for you; a total comes only from what you entered and is not a current offer.
- Counted: the sealer price and pack price you enter, and packs of bags for the bags you need after those the sealer's own starter rolls give (only rolls at least as wide as the bags you chose, counted once).
- Not counted: reuse (every bag is a new bag; neither maker's source read says a bag can be resealed after use), canisters, electricity, and the time the Nesco manual asks between uses.
Without JavaScript the calculator does not run; the tables above cover the worked cases.
Kinds of claim on this page: settings, widths, box contents and warranties are product evidence from each maker's page or manual; which bags fit which sealer is a compatibility statement, the maker's own; suction, seal-strength and freshness figures such as Nesco's “up to 5 times longer” are a manufacturer claim this page does not repeat as a finding; anything no source states, such as the Anova Pro's maximum bag width, is unknown.
What vacuum sealing does not do
“Vacuum packing is not a substitution for the heat processing of home canned foods.” “Vacuum packing is also not a substitute for refrigerating or freezing food that would otherwise require it.” — Oregon State University Extension, Should I Vacuum Package Food at Home? (SP 50-603, peer reviewed, revised March 2013). Nesco's manual: “Store perishable foods in the freezer or refrigerator. Vacuum packing extends the shelf life of foods, but does not preserve them.” This page makes no shelf-life claim of its own.
Left out, and why
- FoodSaver countertop sealers: sold by Amazon.com, but a comparison was not built without their manuals and bag rules read; left for a later pass rather than filled in
- Avid Armor USV20 and Wevac 12 in chamber sealers: sold on Amazon by the brands as third-party sellers, not Amazon.com
- Anova Precision Vacuum Sealer (ANVS01, the smaller model): one Anova edge sealer is enough for these comparisons
- Third-party “compatible” rolls: no maker compatibility statement to check them against
- Freeze dryers and canisters: outside this pilot
The sealers: Anova Precision Vacuum Sealer Pro vs Nesco VS-12 and chamber vs external vacuum sealer.
We tested nothing: no suction, seal-strength, freshness or shelf-life measurements. Dehydrator Score restates makers' published specifications and manuals with attribution, and gives no food-safety advice beyond quoting the extension guidance above.
Product links on this page are affiliate links: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. What is listed, and how it compares, was settled from the makers' own sources before any link was attached — full affiliate disclosure.